Lions Club

The Little River Lions Club formed in 1938. Just like the national organization, aiding the visually impaired was the club’s focus. Local efforts started humbly with broom sales at Don Miller’s business, and for years he served as chairman of the event. Gone are the broom sales, but today the club collects gently used eyewear to help those in need. As the community changed, so did the Lions club.

The club expanded its fundraising efforts and partnered with community events such as the old round-up celebration, a fall timber festival and truck and tractor pulls. Sponsorships included various baseball teams and Boy Scout troops. Recent undertakings include ticket collection at home football games, selecting and honoring the Citizen of the Year and installing the playground equipment in city park.

Lions Club Projects2

Members of the Lions club firmly believe in giving back to the community. Meetings are held the first and third Thursday mornings of the month at Oliver’s at 6:30 a.m. To join the Lions club or for more information, please contact Nathan Olander at 620.897.6637 or Karen McLean at 620.897.6546.

View our Facebook page.

2021 Citizen of the Year: Ed Case

Ed Case is the Little River Lions Club’s “Citizen of the Year” for 2021. He was recognized during the Little River Chamber of Commerce annual dinner, which took place on June 5. Ed has devoted many years of service to our community. He has served on the board at Sandstone Heights, been a township trustee and active member of the First United Methodist Church. Congratulations and many thanks for all you have done!

Past Citizen of the Year Winners

1972: Gene Deeds
1973: Donald E. Miller
1974: Edward Hodgson
1975: Mildred Strohm
1976: Paul C. Perry
1977: Arthur Johnson, Jr.
1978: Merlin L. Peterson
1979: Don Young
1980: Marjorie Stowe
1981: Fred Barta
1982: Dan L. Brayton
1983: Jack Wempe
1985: Francis & Helen Reed
1986: Bernard Smith
1987: Howard Hodgson
1988: Mildred Hicks
1990: Kenneth Nelson
1991: Bill Oswalt
1992: John Wempe
1993: Phyllis Whiteman
1994: Bill Best
1995: Vernon Kruse
1996: Grant Davis
1997: Robyn Galyon & Shane Cordell
1999: Bruce & Jackie Ramage

2000: Art Hodgson
2001: Frank Carlton
2002: Steve Kruse
2003: Vernon Janssen
2004: Howard Hodgson (Lifetime Achievement)
2005: John Fuller
2010: Russell Stephenson
2011: Tom Heindorn
2012: David & Debra Nelson
2013: Jean Oswalt
2014: Beth Myers
2015: Jon Paden
2016: Carolyn Wright
2019: Randall Olander